Is the Specialized Venge Vias getting a disc brake option?

first_imgThese pics, snapped by Etixx Quick-Step team rider Fernando Gaviria show what looks very much like a disc brake equipped Specialized Venge Vias. Clues include the use of Shimano’s hydraulic brake levers, the lack of any brake on the fork’s crown and a big thru-axle lever protrusion on the left. These are spread across three pics from his Instagram and Twitter feeds, and the fact that they haven’t been pulled down yet suggest the Big S can’t be too far off on this.While we haven’t ridden the Vias edition ourselves, we’ve hung around the pro’s pits long enough to hear that the original version’s braking was sub par in favor of maximized aerodynamics. This could be just the fix this bike needs to put its overall performance on par with its astounding aesthetics… All of the photos keep any rotor or caliper just out of view, doing an excellent job of fueling speculation, but the top image that clearly shows the fork without a rim brake caliper leaves few other options.Above, you can see what appears to be a DT Swiss thru axle sticking out the left side, which is odd in that Specialized is almost certainly going to be providing Roval wheels for team use. Could just be the angle, or just what they had laying around the team truck in a pinch.We’ve reached out to Specialized for comment and will report back as necessary.Thanks to everyone that sent these links in!last_img read more

10 Facts about the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

first_img 50 Views   no discussions BusinessNewsPoliticsRegional 10 Facts about the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States by: – June 18, 2020 Share Share Tweet Sharing is caring! Share  In honour of the 39th Anniversary of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and the 10th Anniversary of the Eastern Caribbean Economic Union, here are ten (10) facts about the Organisation: The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven (7) Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other and promote unity among the Members.The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed.The 1981 Treaty was replaced on June 18th 2010 with the Revised Treaty of Basseterre, creating an economic union.The Eastern Caribbean Economic Union, or OECS Economic Union, celebrates 10 years today June 18th 2020!The OECS Economic Union has seven (7) participating Member States referred to as Protocol Member States.All citizens of the seven (7) OECS Protocol Member States are entitled to indefinite stay and access to jobs within the Economic Union.The OECS Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU) is one of only four Monetary Unions in the world.The Eastern Caribbean Dollar (EC$) is the strongest currency in the Caribbean Region.The OECS is an 11 Member State strong International Organisation.The headquarters of the OECS is located on Morne Fortune, Castries, Saint Lucia.last_img read more